Technology tips to make remote learning easier

Computer, Pc, Technology, Mac, Macbook

I haven’t been to a school for even one day since COVID began. Through all of that, I compiled some tech tips to make remote learning easier. This has saved me a lot of time and should save time for you too. Even if you aren’t fully remote or have a day at home these should help a lot.

  1. The only un-tech tip here is the most important, have a nice place to work.  Working on couches or beds makes work 10 times harder, try working on a desk. For example, my “desk” is an old table.
  2. Try to have a monitor. This is usually free; most families have a spare monitor lying around. I found my monitor in a closet.
  3. Try using a “real” computer. Try using a Mac or PC rather than an iPad or Chromebook. This has a lot of benefits which I covered in a blog post here
  4. If a problem arises here are some tips to solve that:
    1. First check with the companies support. If you have a Mac or an iPad then type your problem in Apple Support. Chances are someone asked that question or there’s an official support page for that problem. If you have Windows PC or a Chromebook, check Microsoft and Google support respectively. DO NOT check the hardware manufacturer’s site (Dell, Acer, HP, etc.). You should check this if you have a major problem.
    2. If you have a problem with certain software like Microsoft Teams or Adobe Creative Cloud then check the specific software’s support guide
    3. If the problem persists write to your school’s tech support. This is pretty much guaranteed to work.
  5. Use separate browsers. I use Chrome for my school and Safari for my personal uses. “Contaminating” browsers is a bad idea and will generate a lot of chaos. For example, let’s say you have to write a report on the Persians for history. Using your personal docs account will have the teachers confused about who sent the report (especially if you’re called sirbanana356@gmail.com) and you’ll probably get a zero on that assignment.

3 Comments on "Technology tips to make remote learning easier"

  1. Wow, I actually can’t belive you took the time and effort to make this blog post! I can really see how much thinking you put into this and it’s really good. Great job! ✨

  2. Online learning can be super hard, so it means a lot you made these tips! All of these I definetley need to try out, thank you so much!!

  3. 27ganapathip | April 13, 2021 at 9:01 AM | Reply

    You’re welcome!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


Skip to toolbar